Tim the Traveller Reviews

We have found 87 items matching your search query.

fallback-no-image-3247

Adelaide Central YHA Review


Adelaide Central YHA January 2010 Great location – close to the bus station, also close to the clubs & bars but far enough away to avoid the noise. The staff were friendly – I arrived on an ea
fallback-no-image-2940

Adelaide Zoo Review


Dropped by Adelaide Zoo to see the Panda Bears as I have never send them before. They are all the rage at the moment as they only arrived in Adelaide recently. The Adelaide Zoo has been doing a big re

Air Force Museum Christchurch Review


The Air Force Museum in Christchurch is located on the Old Wigram Air Force Base in Sockburn. Its a short drive from the CBD, there are regular buses going past the entrance from town. So if you are i

Airlie Beach YHA Review


Airlie Beach YHA June 2011 If you travel by train up the Queensland coast the nearest stop is a short bus ride from Airlie Beach. The good thing is the bus goes down main street & stops almost out

Amaroo Park YHA Review


Amaroo Park YHA Phillip Island February 2011 The YHA is part of a bigger holiday park just a short walk from the main area of Cowes. Its a relaxing spot with a pool & dining & bar. The 4 bed

Auckland YHA Review


Auckland YHA New Zealand October, 2010 Older Building but a great spot just off the top of Queen st. Staff were great – never did get the vhs player to work in the basement TV room
no-image-2668

Australian National Sports Museum & MCG Tour Review


This is a two for one deal. You can see the Australian National Sports Museum or do the MCG Tour. As you are already there its easier to take the discount ticket for both & spend a few hours. For
fallback-no-image-2451

Avalon Air Show 2009 Review


Always enjoy a good Air Show & this was one of the best. Only a short train trip from Melbourne it was easy to get to. Lots of old & new aircraft on display & heaps of aerial events. Got t

Base Taupo Review


Base Taupo – New Zealand October 2010 The Base in Taupo is a great location – only a short walk from the Bus station. Its also on the Bar/Club strip & around the corner from awesome views of t
fallback-no-image-2499

Bendigo’s Central Deborah Gold Mine Review


The town of Bendigo is 150 km north-west from Melbourne. You can drive there, take a bus or a Vline Train The trip took a couple of hours & the trains run several trips each way daily. The train r

Brisbane City YHA Review


Brisbane City YHA Australia July, 2010 The Brisbane YHA is a in a great location for everything you need. 10 minute walk from the Roma train station, round the corner from the night life, up the hill
fallback-no-image-3004

Bungalow Bay Koala Village Review


On Magnetic Island there is heaps to do or you can just go down to the beach at Horseshoe Bay & watch a sunset. However you spend you time on maggie be sure to spend part of it at Bungalow Bay Koa

Bungalow Bay Koala Village Review


Bungalow Bay Koala Village – Magnetic Island July 2011 I was looking forward to seeing Magnetic Island but on the day I had a dose of the flu. After a taking a train, bus, ferry & another bus to

Byron Bay YHA Review


Byron Bay YHA July, 2010 There are 2 YHA in Byron Bay – on the same street. I stayed here a few years ago & enjoyed it. Back then the one thing that bugged me was no lockers in the rooms. This

Cafe de Paris Inn Review


Cafe de Paris Inn – Palmerston North October 2010 Friendly relaxed place to stay in Palmerston North I was looking for somewhere close to the the Bus Station & the Cafe de Paris Inn is just over

Cairns Central YHA Review


Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel May 2011 I needed to get away for a break from the Christchurch Earthquakes & wanted somewhere warm & relaxing. So I picked Cairns. There are several host
fallback-no-image-2004

Canterbury Museum Review


May 2010 Canterbury Museum is a short walk from the centre of Christchurch & right next to the Botanical Gardens. There are a series of different displays covering the history of New Zealand &
fallback-no-image-2221

Caterpillar Experience Review


Caterpillar Experience Just outside of Rotorua is the Caterpillar Experience – it right over the road from the Gondola. If you still can’t find it look for the BIG yellow Bulldozer in the front pa

Christchurch Cathedral Review


Christchurch Cathedral May 2010 Christchurch Cathedral is located in the centre of Christchurch & has long been a meeting place for people catching up in town. Regular church services are held in
fallback-no-image-2002

Christchurch Gondola Review


The Christchurch Gondola is a fun way to see the city & surrounding areas. The base station is a short drive from the city, you can also get a shuttle or catch a city bus. Even on an overcast &
fallback-no-image-2698

City Sightseeing Perth Bus Tour Review


Welcome to Perth!! Its my first time here & I went for a bit of a walk around at the weekend but the best way to see Perth & get your bearings is on the City Sightseeing Perth Bus Tour Its a t

Civic Guest House Review


Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel – Townsville July 2011 I only spend a night here as I wanted somewhere close to the Train Station but next time I am Townsville I will stay again. Its a good loc

Coffs Harbour YHA Review


Coffs Harbour YHA July, 2010 Coffs Harbour is a good spot to spend a few days & break up the trip from Byron Bay to sydney. The hostel is a short walk from the train station & they even have i

Coolangatta YHA Review


Coolangatta/Kirra Beach YHA July, 2010 Its very close to the airport – the runway is just over the fence almost. The good thing was the noise from the airport out the back & the highway out the

Ferrymead Heritage Park Review


Ferrymead Heritage Park is a short drive from the Christchurch CBD or you can take a bus – directions are on their website – www.ferrymead.org.nz From their website: Ferrymead Heritage Park featur
no-image-2669

Fire Services Museum of Victoria


The Fire Services Museum of Victoria is just on the edge of the Melbourne CBD. It is close to several tram lines & a short walk from the free city circle tram. Check out the website for a directio
fallback-no-image-2591

Fort Queenscliff Review


Trying to break into this place even today would be difficult but that’s the way its been for 150 years. The views as you will see from the pictures are amazing but then that’s part of the reason
fallback-no-image-2592

Frankston Visit Review


Frankston is a suburb of Melbourne but is also a small town in itself. Located on the edge of the Bay, Frankston is the last stop on the train line from the Melbourne CBD. It is a great day trip from
fallback-no-image-2593

Geelong Day Trip Review


Geelong is the second largest city in Victoria & is an hour south of Melbourne. It is a great location to use as a base for exploring the southern parts of Victoria & all that the Great Ocean
fallback-no-image-2270

Government House Sydney Review


Government House was the private residence of the Governor of New South Wales until 1996. It is still a working house but is open to the public for free tours at set times – check the website. The t

Habitat HQ Review


Habitat HQ – St Kilda Melbourne January 2011 I stayed here for 2 nights because the rest of Melbourne was booked out due to the Tennis. They charged $43 a night for a 6 bed dorm with ensuite which w

Hotel Discovery


Hotel Discovery Melbourne, Australia January 2010 Stayed here for a night as other places I wanted were full. Nice & average hostel $30 a night for a 4 bed dorm seemed a bit much compared to what
fallback-no-image-2269

Hyde Park Barracks Review


The Hyde Park Barracks was built in 1819 to house convicts. Barracks convicts were marched to worksites around town where they built the docks, roads, churches & bridges of early Sydney. From 1830
fallback-no-image-2941

Indian Pacific Railway Review


WOW!! that’s the best way to sum up this trip. I was just amazed at what I saw out the window of the train & it just kept getting better. The trip is 41 hours give or take a bit & I wasn’t
fallback-no-image-2044

International Antarctic Centre Review


Having decided to take a holiday in Christchurch in the middle of winter ( to escape a Melbourne winter ) what do I do – go to a place that is all about the Antarctic & has its own snow room com
fallback-no-image-2271

Justice & Police Museum Review


The Justice & Police Museum is located a short walk from the Sydney Opera House so if you are down at Circular Quay getting you picture taken with the Opera House & the Bridge there is no reas
fallback-no-image-2699

Kings Park Perth Review


Kings park is a great place to get away from it all & its right on the edge of the Perth CBD over looking the city & the Swan River. It is a combination of Botanic Gardens, Bushland & seve
fallback-no-image-3005

MacArthur Museum Brisbane Review


Have you ever walked past an old building & wondered about what had gone on there in the past. The Macarthur Chambers building on the corner of Edward & Queen Streets in Brisbane Australia is
fallback-no-image-2700

Mandurah Day Trip Review


Everything you need to know about Mandurah can be found on the website. Its a relaxing little town south of Perth in Western Australia. I went down for a day trip & it’s less than an hours train

Melbourne Central YHA Review


Melbourne Central YHA January 2010 This YHA is in a great location & only recently opened. Staff are friendly & helpful – booked my next nights in adelaide for me. The lounge rooms are a bit

Melbourne Metro YHA Review


Melbourne Metro YHA January 2011 This is a good size hostel in North Melbourne – the area is close to the cbd but feels like the suburbs It is a short walk to the Vic Markets – bit longer to the
fallback-no-image-3006

Museum of Brisbane Review


The Museum of Brisbane is located in the Southbank complex just over the river from the CBD in amongst all that Southbank has to offer. There are a variety of permanent displays & short term exhib
fallback-no-image-2272

Museum of Sydney Review


A short walk from Circular Quay, the Sydney Museum is well worth the visit to check out the history of Sydney
fallback-no-image-2178

Museum of Wellington Review


Museum of Wellington The Museum of Wellington City & Sea is located in The Bond Store building which dates back to 1892 when it was a cargo warehouse. In 1892 The Bond Store was a cargo warehouse

Napier YHA Review


Napier YHA New Zealand October, 2010 Great spot to stay for a few days – cool old building just over the road from the seaside 7 a short walk back into the centre of town. Has a relaxed homely feel
fallback-no-image-2667

National Vietnam Veterans Museum Review


There is a lot to see in this museum but the best place to start is over in the back corner where they have a hologram display that tells the story of how Australia became involved in Vietnam & wh
no-image-2670

Neighbours Night Review


A Neighbours Night is not a few beers & a barbie at the nighbours place. It is a great night of fun & entertainment down at the Elephant & Wheelbarrow with the stars of neighbours & th
fallback-no-image-2175

New Zealand Parliament Buildings Tour Review


NZ Parliament Buildings The capital of New Zealand is Wellington & the place where all the hot air is generated is the Parliament Buildings. They are located on a hill near the Railway Station. It
fallback-no-image-2223

New Zealand Rugby Museum Review


New Zealand Rugby Museum October 2010 For a country where Rugby is a religion you would expect a Museum to it to be in one of the main centres not a mid size town like Palmerston North in the middle o
fallback-no-image-3007

Ocean Rafting – Whitsundays Review


AWESOME DAY OUT !! – I had to start with that because this was a great day out all by itself, the fact that it was in the Whitsunday’s was just an added bonus. When I first heard the name Ocean Ra